A tale of two T-shirts

There were conspiring forces working against the two innocent T-shirts.  The first was the fashion industry that produced continually finer and more fragile fabrics in a thinly veiled attempt to deliver only a hint of clothing. The second was me, a hardly gentle wearer of clothes.  

I purchased each of these two shirts separately, months apart.  They are made by different designers. One is made of modal, the other cotton. One is loose fitted and the other is closer to form. And yet, despite this, the resulting damage is very similar…holes of varied proportion near the midriff. I probably have half a dozen shirts with the same issue. I must lean here, tug here or otherwise wear here, but the fact remains.  Two shirts, same result:  These shirts are usually demoted to sleep shirts, and when they move from “favourite shirt” to “sleep shirt”, it’s very disappointing.  Every time I put one on, I pout anew. But not today. Today, I was struck with inspiration. I could not save two shirts but could I not save one? My favourite one?  Off to the craft room!

The striped shirt is my favourite for comfort, the yellow for colour, so yellow was the natural sacrifice. What I needed was a patch. A large patch. A large, appropriate patch. Enter tracing paper, double sided iron-on transfer paper and an idea.       Of course, iron-on patches are not known for their long shelf life so I thought a “decorative stitch” might be lovely.   And voila! One rescued t-shirt and plenty of yellow fabric to use for other projects. 

One thought on “A tale of two T-shirts

Leave a Reply

Trash To Couture

A journal and a journey

Elegant Economy

Exploring Creative Options for Cute and Frugal Knitting

danadoodleknits

Modern Knitwear Design by Dana Berry

Nice and Knit

Lovingly Hand Dyed Yarns

30 Days of Something New

A journal and a journey

