Firsts

Life is full of firsts.  There are baby’s firsts, and first days, and first kisses, and first…well, everything!  Nothing you do today wasn’t done first at some time in your life, and today’s first is this little beauty.

guitar

I’ve been wanting to learn the guitar for a while now and I first needed the instrument.  Buying an instrument you’ve never played before can be daunting, and I was grateful that the gentleman at the store was patient and generous with his time.  I was nervous about picking them up myself, and he seemed to pick up quickly what I needed.  He made some great recommendations, played several instruments for me so I could hear the tones of each until I found one I liked, and then dug up the one with the desired finish.  A guitar can’t just be functional, it also be visually appealing.  In short, it should make you want to play it.

Plus I got to pluck a banjo, and that isn’t a rough day all around!

I haven’t had much time to get to know her yet, this being her first experience with me.  I plucked a few strings and strummed her a little to get to know her tones.  Despite best efforts, I didn’t mysteriously discover that I am a guitar prodigy.  She is truly lovely and I can’t wait to get the hang of this!

Sadly, I also discovered that the ‘e’ string is rough on your fingertips, and that can really slow down your knitting.  But I’ll let it slide while we get to know one another…

One thought on “Firsts

Leave a Reply

Trash To Couture

A journal and a journey

Elegant Economy

Exploring Creative Options for Cute and Frugal Knitting

danadoodleknits

Modern Knitwear Design by Dana Berry

Nice and Knit

Lovingly Hand Dyed Yarns

30 Days of Something New

A journal and a journey

